Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Elon Musk, Rupert Murdoch Will No Longer Receive RBG Award After Barbra Streisand Complains

via Still Watching Netflix
This article was originally published at Publications approved for syndication have permission to republish this article, such as Microsoft News, Yahoo News, Newsbreak, UltimateNewswire and others. To learn more about syndication opportunities, visit About Us.

Barbra Streisand publicly criticized the decision to award the annual RBG Leadership Award to Elon Musk and Rupert Murdoch.

The award is named after Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg and honors her legacy.

Streisand, a past recipient, said Ginsburg and Justice Sotomayor would not approve of the choice given their commitment to democratic values and women’s rights.

“Last year I was proud to accept the Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg Woman of Leadership Award in memory of one of the most esteemed public figures in American history. I was especially honored that Justice Sonia Sotomayor made the presentation,” Streisand said.

“Justices Ginsburg and Sotomayor stand as two of the most respected women role models, and their commitment to democratic values, especially women’s rights, is unequaled. That’s why I join the Ginsburg family in condemning the choice of honorees this year. I had the privilege of meeting Justice Ginsburg on several occasions, and I strongly doubt she would approve of these awardees,” she said.

The Ginsburg family also condemned the selection.

In response, the Opperman Foundation rescinded the award for Musk and Murdoch, citing their goal of avoiding controversy and not offending Ginsburg’s family and friends.

They pledged to cancel the planned April 2024 ceremony and reconsider their mission over the next few months.

Most Popular:

Hidden Camera Exposes Biden Official

Border Patrol Marksman Takes Matters Into His Own Hands

You May Also Like