Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

U.S. News

Michigan man becomes first person charged under new gun law

via Local 4
This article was originally published at Publications approved for syndication have permission to republish this article, such as Microsoft News, Yahoo News, Newsbreak, UltimateNewswire and others. To learn more about syndication opportunities, visit About Us.

A 44-year-old Michigan man was charged under the state’s new gun storage law after his 2-year-old daughter shot herself in the head with his unsecured revolver the day after the law took effect.

He is the first person charged under the new law, which requires safe storage of firearms.

The incident occurred in Flint.

The man faces charges including child abuse, violating the gun storage law, felon in possession of a firearm, and lying to police.

Police found the revolver the girl shot herself with and another loaded, unsecured pistol in the man’s bedroom, along with no gun locks or safes.

The prosecutor emphasized the shooting happened just one day after the new storage law took effect.

The girl remains hospitalized in critical condition.

Most Popular:

FBI Informant Who Criticized Biden Gets Bad News

Drag Queen Principal Learns His Fate Amid Controversy

You May Also Like